Mon. Dec 4th, 2023


Aotearoa NZ's independent voice of fishing, hunting & outdoors

Celebrating Aotearoa’s biosecurity heroes

2 min read
NZ Biosecurity Awards 2023

Whakatipu Wilding Control Group: BioHeritage Challenge Community Award winner 2022. Photo: Supplied

Entries are now open for this year’s New Zealand Biosecurity Awards and eligible Kiwis are being encouraged to enter one (or more) of the nine categories.

“There are many incredible people across New Zealand in communities, schools, iwi and hapū, businesses, Government, and their backyards doing their part to protect and preserve our country’s rich and unique biodiversity,” said Biosecurity New Zealand’s deputy director general Stuart Anderson.

“Their important work plays a critical part in ensuring New Zealand’s biosecurity system remains resilient, effective, and world-class.”

The awards recognise and celebrate notable contributions to protecting New Zealand against unwanted pests and diseases.

“A strong biosecurity system takes all of us. We are grateful to receive continued support for these Awards from our fantastic sponsors – AsureQuality, Eagle Technology, Government Industry Agreement (GIA), Mondiale VGL, and New Zealand’s Biological Heritage – we couldn’t do it without them,” said Anderson.

Previous finalists and winners have spanned the entire biosecurity system, from collaborations between central and local government, to iwi, businesses, and community organisations.

NZ Biosecurity Awards 2023
WilderLab, New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award winner 2022. Photo: Supplied

Last year’s Supreme Award winner Wilderlab took out the top spot for their work in developing technology that can reveal the native and pest species that are present in just a cupful of water.

Shaun Wilkinson, founder and CEO of Wilderlab, said the laboratory’s success in the New Zealand Biosecurity Awards drove a sharp increase in the uptake of environmental DNA (eDNA) monitoring across the country.

“The recognition of our laboratory has drawn attention to the enormous possibilities that emerging technologies such as eDNA can offer. Thousands of kilometres of Aotearoa’s waterways are being monitored for tens of thousands of species every week, enabling early detections of unwanted organisms.”

Entrants might be innovators, scientists, communities, teachers, or leaders. The organisers encourage anyone who has taken an active interest in the improvement of New Zealand’s biosecurity system
to enter the awards.

The nine New Zealand Biosecurity Awards categories are:

  • BioHeritage Challenge Community Award
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Kura (School) Award
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Māori Award
  • GIA Industry Award
  • Eagle Technology Local and Central Government Award
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Science Award
  • Mondiale VGL Innovation Award
  • AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award  (nomination only)
  • Minister’s Award  (nomination only)

All category winners will be eligible for the New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award. More information on criteria and categories can be found on

Entries close 5pm on 31 July 2023. The finalists will be announced in October, followed by an Awards event in November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.